F1 2022: Max Verstappen takes 4th consecutive win at Dutch GP: Russell and Leclerc round-off podium – Times of India

Reigning World Champion as well as the current Driver Championship leader Max Verstappen headed home to the Dutch Grand Prix with 284 points to his name, and managed to take a win in front of his home crowd for the second consecutive season after starting the race from pole position. The young Dutch driver took his fourth back-to-back win at the Circuit Zandvoort, further extending his lead.
Meanwhile Ferrari‘s woes continue. On Lap 16, Carlos Sainz was pitted to get new tyres but the pit crew was not ready with the rear left tyre for his car. This resulted in an extended pit stop of 12.7 seconds, costing the Spaniard some important points. Furthermore, he was demoted to P8 after a time penalty for an unsafe release.
There was a disagreement between Yuki Tsunoda and his team Alpha Tauri, with the driver claiming that his tyres weren’t fitted properly when he pitted on Lap 44. Tsunoda had to retire his car, leading to the deployment of a Virtual Safety Car, helping drivers make a pit stop, including race leader Max Verstappen, as well as Lewis Hamilton and George Russell.
Mercedes had originally decided to use a one-stop strategy, switching from Mediums to Hard compound tyres for both the cars, but the Virtual Safety Car resulted in Hamilton and Russell switching to Mediums, while Verstappen moved to Hards.
Here is a list of all the point scorers at the 2022 Dutch Grand Prix:
1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull Racing)
2. George Russell (Mercedes)
3. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
4. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
5. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
6. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)
7. Lando Norris (McLaren)
8. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
9. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
10. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
After Valtteri Bottas retired his Alfa Romeo on the main straight calling the Safety Car out, Red Bull decided to pit Max Verstappen again for Soft compound tyres for the remaining 16 laps, and so did George Russell on P3. Meanwhile provisional race leader Lewis Hamilton stayed out on Mediums.
Max Verstappen was quick to regain lead once the green flags were waved, while Lewis Hamilton was overtaken by George Russell and Charles Leclerc as well, and in the end, had to settle for P4. George Russell and Charles Leclerc completed the podium at the 2022 Dutch Grand Prix. As the table stands, Max Verstappen continues to lead the Championship with 310 points after his 10th win of the season.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *