Mohammed Ali Naqvi is now an Oscars’ member | The Express Tribune

A Pakistani documentary maker has been included in the 397 new invitees of Oscars, class of 2022.  A new royal court of famous faces could soon join the Oscars voting ranks, reported Variety. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) announced on Tuesday that 397 Hollywood and international film community professionals were invited to join AMPAS’ 2022 class. 

Mohammed Ali Naqvi, of Insha’Allah Democracy fame, has been included in the coveted list which sees the likes of Caitríona Balfe, Bollywood actor Kajol, reigning Best Supporting Actress winner Ariana DeBose, and superstar musician Billie Eilish.

Joining the aforementioned trio on the list of invitees are Best Supporting Actor winner Troy Kotsur, Anya Taylor-Joy, Jessie Buckley, Jamie Dornan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Reinaldo Marcus Green, Finneas O’Connell, and Drive My Car mastermind Ryusuke Hamaguchi, among others.

Naqvi took to Twitter and confirmed that he is now a member of The Academy and has been inducted into the Academy of Motion Pictures. “Beyond thrilled to announce that I am now a member of The Academy, inducted into the Academy of Motion Pictures.” He added, “It is an honour for me and I am proud to represent Pakistan. I look forward to casting my first vote!”

Naqvi’s recent work, Netflix’s critically acclaimed documentary, Turning Point: 9/11 And The War On Terror, has garnered rave reviews for showing the true events of a catastrophe that changed the world. 

According to an Academy press release, the 2022 class is comprised of 44% women, with 37% belonging to underrepresented ethnic or racial communities. About 50 percent of the invited class are from 53 countries and territories outside the United States. Overall, 71 potential new members are Oscar nominees, including 15 winners.

An invitation to the Academy does not automatically guarantee membership; those invited are often asked to join in more than one branch – such as Hamaguchi, who was this year invited to join both the writing and directing groups – and must formally accept their invitation before becoming official Academy members.

The Academy previously announced that Michael J Fox would receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award for his philanthropic efforts at the upcoming Governors Awards with Peter Weir, Euzhan Palcy, and 13-time songwriting nominee Diane Warren also receiving Honorary Awards at the same ceremony for their contributions to the industry.

Have something to add to the story? Share it in the comments below. 

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *