241-member panel on Independence-Day events formed

The Centre on Monday constituted a 241-member committee to ‘provide direction and guidelines’ on holding national and international events to commemorate the 75th year of Independence. The members include senior Cabinet ministers Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman and S Jaishankar; former President Pratibha Patil; former PMs Manmohan Singh and HD Deve Gowda; Congress president Sonia Gandhi; BJP veterans LK Advani and Murli Mahohar Joshi; NSA Ajit Doval; Chief Justice of India NV Ramana; actors Amitabh Bachchan and Rajinikanth; Nobel laureate Amartya Sen; former scientist Nambi Narayanan among others.

Opposition leaders Trichy Siva, Mulayam Singh Yadav, Mayawati, Farooq Abdullah, Sitaram Yechury and Meira Kumar; spiritual leaders Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, Sadhguru, Ramdev and Syed Zainul Abedin; sportspersons Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar, Rahul Dravid, MS Dhoni, Mithali Raj, P Gopichand, Prakash Padukone, Vishwanathan Anand and Geet Sethi are also part of the committee.

Business leaders Ratan Tata, Nandan Nilekani, Azim Premji, Venu Srinivasan and Anand Mahindra among others have made it to the list.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *